The three-day 88th Anniversary General Meeting of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) concluded on Friday.

On the last day of the meeting, two different sessions were held and three lectures were given by Prof. ML Munjal of the Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru; Prof. Shankar Pal, former Director of Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, and Prof. Mewa Singh of the University of Mysore.

The ceremony for the induction of the Fellows was held on the last day of the meeting with Prof. Gaity Hassan, vice-president, inviting the Fellows and Prof. Chandrima Shaha, president, INSA, showing them the scrolls.

The partners were also sworn in by the president. The Fellowship will start from January 1, 2023. It is followed by awards to teachers and young scientists. Winners who participated in previous years could not be awarded their medals due to COVID-19 restrictions. Notable awards from the city include: Dr. V. Bhujanga Rao, former Director, NSTL, as partner and Prof. Salivahan, Director of IIPE as a lecturer, according to a statement issued by Director General and Scientist in charge of NIO, Vizag, GPS Murty.

The resolution was followed by the Annual General Meeting. The new president of INSA since the New Year is Prof. Ashutosh Sharma, First Secretary of the Deptt. of Science & Technology, Government of India, and Institute Chair Professor at IIT Kanpur.

Source link