K’taka elects groups to the higher education council

Members serve for five years until further orders

Representative Photo.  Image: iStock Photo

For the first time, the state government has appointed industry leaders as members of the Karnataka State Higher Education Council (KSHEC) to foster industry-academia collaboration.

The ten experts appointed by the government to the KSHEC include Mindtree CEO Debashish Chatterjee, Azim Premji Foundation CEO Anurag Behar, CIGMA CEO Ameen-e-Mudassar, Merck Life Sciences Managing Director NS Sreenath, Quest Global President of Technology Services Ajay Prabhu and Bosch Global Software Head of Strategy Raghavendra Krishnamurthy.

The other members are: Vishakapatnam Central Tribal University vice-chancellor TV Kattimani, former Kuvempu University vice-chancellor Jogan Shankar, former Akka Mahadevi University vice-chancellor Meena Chandavarkar and ICSSR senior professor Usha Rani.

Higher Education Minister CN Ashwath Narayan said that the term of these members is five years or new orders. “Currently, businessmen are appointed as members to link the school with the industry,” said Narayan.

Check out DH’s latest videos

Check out DH’s latest videos

Get a summary of the day’s top stories in your inbox

We use cookies to understand your use of our website and improve the user experience. This includes privacy and advertising. By continuing to use our website, you agree to our use of cookies, revised privacy policy.

Learn more i agree X

Source link